ARTinSTEREO


Project Update: Liars, Thieves & Fools
November 19, 2010, 3:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Guitar player and songwriter Joey Avalos, from the Tulsa-based pop/rock band Stars Go Dim recently contacted me with a request to design a digital album cover for a side project he’s working on called “Liars, Thieves & Fools.”  He described the music as a very chill, moody singer-songwriter sound, a la Ryan Adams, Wilco, and David Gray, and said they want to have a very simple, retro LP look.  Excuse me?  Umm, yeah.  I think I would like a shot at that.  I’d never claim to be the Albert Pujols of graphic design, but I know my strengths, and asking me if I’d take a crack at this project is like tossing #5 a fat batting practice pitch right into his wheelhouse and asking him if he’d like to swing.  I was salivating.  To boot, he sent me a couple of really vibey, grainy black and white photos that just sent my mind running with ideas, and withing 24 hours that meaty pitch was sailing over the left-center field fence.  Pardon the baseball analogy, but I’m pretty darn happy with the turnout:

Be on the lookout for the release of this EP, and keep checking back here to see what kind of projects I’m getting to take on…

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

